Hestekin Wins Softball Player of the Year, Other Local Athletes Win Awards

Hestekin Wins D1 Softball Player of the Year
Posted at 3:49 PM, Jun 15, 2017
and last updated 2017-06-15 19:09:11-04

Kaukauna pitcher Haley Hestekin has another award to add to her trophy case: 2017 Division 1 Player of the Year.

Hestekin helped her Galloping Ghosts take home their first state title in Madison and is joined by a few teammates with All-State nods. Kaukauna's Megan Huss earned honorable mention and Sidney Miller made All-State Second Team.

Kaukauna Wins Its Second Division 1 Softball Title

The awards were announced Thursday by the Wisconsin Fastpitch Softball Coaches Association. 

Laconia pitcher Kayla Schwebke earned Division 3 Player of the Year, after leading the Spartans to their third consecutive Division 3 championship and a 25-0 record this season. Laconia Scott Ritzema was named Wisconsin Coach of the Year.

Laconia wins third straight softball title

Other local players named to the Division 1/2 All-State First Team include Oshkosh North's Shaye Gauthier and Syd Supple. Second-teamers from the area include Menomonee Falls' Ciera Jones and Oshkosh North's Lauren Christie, Lauren Neveau and Libby Neveau.

WFSCA's honorable mentions include Appleton North's Marissa Mullen, Bay Port's Sydney LaPointe, Green Bay Preble's Janelle Wotruba, Kimberly's Alyssa Sikora, Menomonee Falls' Cami Stigler and Pulaski's Liz Pautz.