Rep. Glenn Grothman wins reelection

Posted at 11:24 PM, Nov 03, 2020
and last updated 2020-11-04 01:35:15-05

Incumbent Glenn Grothman (R-Campbellsport) has won the 6th Congressional district race to retain his U.S. House of Representatives seat, the Associated Press reports.

This will be Rep. Grothman’s fourth term in Congress. He currently sits on the House Committees on Education and Labor and plus Oversight and Reform.

Some of Rep. Grothman’s key votes from the 116th Congress include voting against U.S. House Joint Resolution 46 terminating President Trump’s emergency border wall declaration, against U.S. House Bill 1644 to re-impose federal net neutrality rules, and not voting on U.S. House bill 4617, which was to expand restrictions regarding online campaigns ads while regulating foreign involvement in U.S. elections.

According to GovTrack, Rep. Grothman has missed 29 of 1,004 votes in his latest term.

Grothman was first elected to represent the 6th Congressional district in 2014 after pushing 17-term Republican incumbent Tom Petri out of the party’s spotlight. Grothman beat Democratic nominee and Winnebago County Executive Mark Harris 57 to 41 percent.

Grothman won re-election against Democratic challengers Sarah Lloyd and Dan Kohl in 2016 and 2018 respectively.

Previously, Grothman served in the Wisconsin State Assembly from 1993 until 2005. He was vice chair of the Assembly's Republican caucus from 1999 to 2004. Grothman was then a member of the statesenate from the 20th district from 2005–15, while serving as Assistant Majority Leader from 2011-15.

Notably, Grothman co-introduced 2011 SB 93 which made Wisconsin the 49th state to legalize concealed carry once signed by former Gov. Walker.