NBC26 wins regional Edward R. Murrow Award for Small Market Television Newscast

Awarded for coverage of the tragedy in Dallas
Posted at 10:54 AM, Apr 25, 2017
and last updated 2017-04-25 12:16:52-04

NBC26 has won a prestigious, regional Edward R. Murrow Award for Best Newscast for its coverage of the tragic police shootings in Dallas last July.

After a peaceful march ended with an ambush and killing of five officers in Dallas, NBC26 dedicated its entire newscasts at 5, 6 and 10 p.m. to the victims and how the city began to heal. NBC26 was the only news outlet from Northeast Wisconsin providing live coverage from Dallas after the tragedy.

NBC26 also focused on the local response in Northeast Wisconsin and how the shootings affected area law enforcement. 

For its coverage, NBC26 earned the Small Market Television Newscast award.

The regional competition includes news organizations from Wisconsin, Minnesota, North Dakota and South Dakota.

"I am so very proud of my entire news team for winning one of the most prestigious awards in journalism,” said NBC26 News Director Julie Moravchik. “I have one of the hardest working teams in all of news, and I am thrilled to see them honored in this way. "

The Murrow Awards are named after Edward R. Murrow, a journalism pioneer who set the standards for the highest quality of broadcast journalism. The awards are the embodiment of the values and principles he set forth.

"Edward R. Murrow stood for the very best in quality journalism,” said WGBA-TV General Manager Peter Marquardt. “Our news team strives daily to achieve the standards set by this remarkable journalist. I am proud of them today and every day, and it's incredible to see them win one of the top awards for Newscast."

Murrow Award-winning stories put public interest above all else, provide a catalyst for public discussion and adhere to the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) Code of Ethics, according to the RTDNA.

It is one of the most respected awards of those given to journalists in the world.

Regional Edward R. Murrow Award winners automatically advance to the national competition, which will be judged in May.