NBC26 wins regional Edward R. Murrow Award for Breaking News Coverage

News team honored for coverage of summer tornadoes

NBC26 has won a prestigious, regional Edward R. Murrow Award for Small Market Television Breaking News Coverage for its team coverage of the tornadoes that ripped through Northeast Wisconsin last June.

Chief Meteorologist Cameron Moreland and Meteorologist Michael Fish provided wall-to-wall coverage of the storm to keep our viewers informed and safe. At the same time, our entire dedicated, hard-working news team canvassed the whole viewing area and provided the best coverage in the market on the impact the tornadoes had on our area.

NBC26 continued to cover the tornado aftermath for the days that followed, keeping our viewers informed of the clean-up efforts and stories of how thousands of people weathered one of the worst tornado outbreaks to ever hit our region.

The regional competition includes news organizations from Wisconsin, Minnesota, North Dakota and South Dakota.

"I am so very proud of my entire news team for winning one of the most prestigious awards in journalism,” said NBC26 News Director Julie Moravchik. “I have one of the hardest working teams in all of news, and I am thrilled to see them honored in this way. They went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that our viewers were kept informed and safe. That reaches the very heart of what Edward R. Murrow stood for. I could not be prouder.”

The Murrow Awards are named after Edward R. Murrow, a journalism pioneer who set the standards for the highest quality of broadcast journalism. The awards are the embodiment of the values and principles he set forth.

"Edward R. Murrow stood for the very best in quality journalism,” said WGBA-TV Vice President and General Manager Joe Antonelli. “This award comes as a high honor representing both who we strive to be everyday as well as our commitment to the community we serve.”

Murrow Award-winning stories put public interest above all else, provide a catalyst for public discussion and adhere to the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) Code of Ethics, according to the RTDNA.

It is one of the most respected awards of those given to journalists in the world.

Regional Edward R. Murrow Award winners automatically advance to the national competition, which will be judged in May.

Print this article Back to Top