NewsLocal News


Diocese of Green Bay release names of clergy accused of sexual abuse

diocese green bay.jpeg
Posted at 11:01 AM, Jan 17, 2019
and last updated 2019-01-18 12:03:34-05

GREEN BAY, Wis. — The Diocese of Green Bay says it is releasing clergy names “with substantiated allegations of sexual abuse of a minor”.

The list is as follows:

1. Priests of the Diocese of Green Bay with a substantiated allegation of the sexual abuse of a minor.

Donald Becker
Dennis Bouche
David Boyea
Stanley Browne
Donald Buzanowski
Michael Carroll
John Conrad
August Dusold
William Eberhardy
Simeon Engl
John Feeney
Bernard Geimer
Daniel Gilsdorf
Ralph Hermsen
Richard Heyman
Philip Hoffmann
Leroy Hogan
William Kiernan
Jerome Koerner
John Koprowski
Nicholas Langenfeld
Clarence Leitermann
Norbert Rank
Francis Reinke
Kenneth Rodgers
Donald Rose
Tito Sammut
Eugene Schmidt
Ronald Schneider
Earl Schuh
Thomas Stocker
Richard Thomas
Robert Thompson
Gerald van Nuland
Alphonse Wagner
Jerome Watry

2. Priests of the Diocese of Green Bay with a single substantiated allegation of the sexual abuse of a minor made after the priest’s death.

Arthur Danks
James Hodik
George Kiefer
Laurence Loerke
Florian Milbauer
Glenn Ochs
Fridolin Olshowski
Elroy Reimer
Francis Rose
Walter Williams

On the Diocese's website, each name has a link that states how many allegations a priest faced and where they served as a priest.

In the past year, new revelations in the sex abuse scandal in the Catholic Church have come to light.

Back in August, a Pennsylvania grand jury report documented decades of alleged sexual abuse by priests and a system of cover-ups by Church higher-ups.

About a month later, Bishop Robert Morneau requested to withdraw from all public ministry saying he regrets not reporting abuse of a minor by a priest in 1979.

Following that announcement a few days later, the Diocese of Green Bay announced it was hiring a firm to review files of all priests and deacons who served in the diocese. The Diocese of Green Bay says the findings will be reported to the Diocesan Independent Review Board and the Chancellor.