Eight write-in candidates registered in Wisconsin so far

Posted at 9:58 PM, Oct 27, 2016
and last updated 2016-10-27 22:58:35-04

At least eight write-in candidates for president will have their votes counted in Wisconsin.

State law requires election clerks to only count write-in votes for candidates who file the paperwork to be registered. This is the first presidential election under that 2014 law.

The deadline for candidates to submit the required paperwork was Tuesday. Eight candidates met that deadline. Wisconsin Elections Commission administrator Mike Haas says Thursday that a ninth that faxed their paperwork in will be added if their original registration form was postmarked by Tuesday's deadline.

The write-in candidates are Evan McMullin, Cherunda Fox, Michael Maturen, Marshall Schoenke, Chris Keniston, Laurence Kotlikoff, Tom Hoefling and Joseph Maldonado.

Write-in candidates for other offices have until Nov. 4 to register.